INTRO / Uncategorized

Sumire ~

Why I chose the name Sumire? 菫

Hello there!
I am new to blogging!
Started this one to start writing in English and (force) myself to buck up on my Japanese language studies (haha).

Why Sumire?
The Viola mandashurica is called Sumire (菫, すみれ, スミレ) in Japan.

The colour of the flower is dark violet. 🙂
My favorite colour.

The name has the meaning of “a small love,” “sincerity,” and “small bliss.”
In terms of Hanakotoba 花詞 (flower language), it means Honesty.

As I have been taking Japanese language classes, I had become interested in getting a meaningful Japanese name (of some sort). Purple/Violet is my favorite colour so I just tried to translate it into Japanese and found the name Sumire. 🙂

Simple, small and yet loved by many – a quality I hope to achieve.
~
640px-Viola_mandshurica_roadside

紫色は大好きなんですから、「菫」名前を選んでました。
花詞で菫は正直という意味です。

簡単・小さい・でもたくさん人に愛されます - 美徳一つです

__________________________________________

// Japanese Words In This Post //

HONESTY
SHOJIKI   /   しょうじき = 正直 (漢字)

VIRTUE
BITOKU   /   びとく = 美徳 (漢字)

VIOLET
SUMIRE / すみれ = 菫 (漢字)

__________________________________________

<追伸>
いま日本語を勉強していますから、まだ上手じゃありません。
たぶん間違えところがありますので、恕するおください!

__________________________________________

Feel free to correct my Japanese or English!

Sources:

10 beautiful Japanese flowers and their meanings

Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

